I’m tired of These Mobile Strategy Games

As we all know, games like Clash of Clans and Game of War are immensely popular. In fact, Clash of Clans is easily one of the most profitable video games in the world, bringing in over $1 billion in revenue in 2015 alone. But did you know there are countless mobile strategy games? I’m not just talking about the super well known ones that are made by the folks behind Clash of Clan (Supercel) and Game of War (Machine Zone) either. I’m talking about games like Emporea: Realms of War and Magic from Pixel Federation and Path of War from Nexon. These two games launched relatively recently (March 17 2016 and January 28 2016). Now there’s nothing bad about new game launches, but my issue with these launches is that they offer nothing new to the genre. In fact, almost every game within the mobile strategy genre offers little innovation. It’s almost as if these games are all built on the same exact engine and the only difference is the art-style and unit names.

clash-of-clans-battle-ends

My problem with these mobile strategy games is that they’re all pay to win. Every single one of them. Casual players that don’t want to spend money are at an ENORMOUS disadvantage whether they’re playing Vikings: War of Clans or Imperia Online. Low on resources? Just spend money for boosts! Units taking too long to train? Pay money for instant building! Pay to win is a big problem in every free to play game, but it’s a much bigger issue in strategy games because these games are built around PvP. Every aspect of Clash of Clans is PvP focused whereas a game like Taichi Panda or Fantasy War Tactics can be played without PvP. I simply can’t get myself to play mobile strategy games for this exact reason. I’m not going to spend money on these games, so I simply can’t compete. Luckily, there are plenty of solid free to play non-strategy mobile games out there for me to enjoy. Eagle: Fantasy Golf launched recently and I’m enjoying it a lot. For some reason I find golfing games to be relaxing, which is why I’ve also been playing Winning Putt on the PC.

winning-putt-hook

I want to clarify that I have nothing against mobile games. I mostly play traditional PC MMOs/MOBAs. I don’t consider myself a “mobile gamer” but I do dabble on occasion. So when a game like Juggernaut Wars or Clash Royale launches, I can appreciate them. Juggernaut Wars is a mobile MOBA that I thought was pretty decent. It’s no Vainglory for sure, but it’s not terrible. Clash Royale on the other hand is a game from Supercel that’s NOT a mobile strategy game. I think Supercel has proven that they’re capable of making QUALITY non generic mobile games. When I say “generic mobile games” I’m referring to match 3 and strategy games. These two genres are the most popular, but I find them to be the most boring. I’d probably enjoy the strategy games a lot more if they didn’t have absurdly broken cash shops though.

Leave a Reply

